University Aircraft - how 'bout this one?

I was tracking flights in the vicinity of South Bend Regional (KSBN) a while back, and I noticed a Cessna Citation flying out of South Bend with the tail number N42ND. Im a student at the University Of Notre Dame, and the university is only about five miles from the airport, so the ND in the tail number caught my eye. (Its actually pretty cool, because the campus is right under the extended centerline of 9R/27L, and so, all the traffic on final for 27L flies right over the campus. Once, I was lucky enough to get a nice picture of Air Force One over the Golden Dome when President Bush was in town. But, those are all stories for another time.) Anyway, I noticed that N42ND belonged to the university. I did some FAA registration searches and determined that it is the only aircraft owned by the university. Its a Cessna 560 Citation 5, and from what I understand, it is used primarily by the football staff for recruiting and the president of the university for whatever else. Anyway, seems to be a glitch in the system.

flightaware.com/live/flight/N42N … /KOMA/KSBN

Anybody know if N42ND made it back to KSBN last night?

Also, does anybody else know or have been surprised by aircraft owned by a particular school or corporation?

It doesn’t surprise me if thats what your asking. If a coach or recruiter are going to see someone they want to make a good impession also don’t want people watching them make moves to get a start on the rest of the schools. I bet USC has there own plane. (All I have to say is GO IRISH Walker will be one of the best runningbacks this year.) Sorry off topic.

University of Florida used to have a DC-3, then a F-22. Now they have a Citation Bravo and a King Air 200. Auburn has a few aircraft I believe 2 Citations.

F-22!?!?!? UF had a RAPTOR?

Gee, I knew that the rivalry between UF and FSU was pretty intense, but I didn’t think they had gotten to the point of dogfighting! :laughing: