Piaware 3 on setup page a raspberry PI3 required

According to the set up instructions it says required is a piaware 3. I have the pi2. Plus a fresh raspian operating system will require for me at least to hook to tv and set it to find my WiFi first. For now a bit to much time involved to upgrade to piaware 3

It will work fine on a Pi2.

The “required” list is if you’re buying a new one, the Pi is a required component.

Is there a faster way than starting from scratch and resetting up with WiFi on a new SD card. Thanks

That is the fast way! Should take you 5 minutes or so. You do not need a keyboard/monitor to set up wifi, you can directly edit piaware-config.txt on the sdcard on your PC.

Thanks but for me easiest way is via keyboard and TV I’m not good with all the command line tried that for WiFi before and it didn’t work for me. Sorry is just me

Well, you can log in and use a text editor on the Pi (there’s a GUI one installed, leafpad) to edit /boot/piaware-config.txt

But you can also edit the same file on your PC using whatever editor you’re familiar with already. Put the sdcard in your PC, edit the file called piaware-config.txt.

Neither requires touching the command line.

Initial setup for me was under five minutes – download the files, unpack, and write a new card for my Pi 3. Edit cmdline.txt to fake the MAC address.

Power it off, swap cards, power it up. And it starts up just fine!

I had to install a few things and reconfigure, but that only took a few minutes to do.

3.0.3 is up and running on my secondary unit, and it’s configured and backed up. Since it’s a minimal configuration, the first backup took 9 minutes.

Thanks again to Oliver and to the FlightAware folks! Up and running!

(and I’m such a trusting soul that I’ll let it run for a few days before converting my main box…)

bob k6rtm