No ip address assigned (of course it's got to happen to me!)

Hello all, so this summer I bought a pi and a dvb-t stick to set up a ais system for my sailboat (still working on that one :wink: ) and found out that you can also track planes, how cool, so after following the steps on pimylife I get this error message, I cant even get to see it on my laptop (before making it to the flightaware site) as it is shown in several youtube videos. So as you can see on the photo I have no ip address, why? the pi is connected to my laptop (via ethernet cable) , I am in Canada using Bell, nothing particular. What do I do wrong?

Beware, I am not a coder or a computer whiz, please explain this in simple terms, how do I assign an IP address to my piaware so I can then punch it into my browser and see planes.

Lets put a twist, could I do it via wifi instead?

In the photo I have not connected the receiver, but that made no differences.

Did you follow the instructions here?

You may need to turn on “internet connection sharing” or similar on your laptop (I don’t have any real experience with it though) if you want to route the Pi through your laptop to the internet.

That said, your Pi isn’t seeing the dvb-t dongle either…

Yes or course, but before I make it to step 3 how could I be detected by flight aware if I have no ip address, wifi or line connections?

I know about the dongle, It was not connected

Can you explain what you’re trying to set up, exactly? You will need internet access for the local aircraft map to work (the map tiles are retrieved from the internet) and to allow uploading data to FlightAware. If you don’t have internet access available where the receiver is, then the piaware sdcard image is not really suitable.

I saw a video on youtube that shows before registering to flightaware you can type the pi ip address into your internet browser and get some kind of a preview (this video at 2:30 : Raspberry Pi ADS-B Receiver: Build a Live Flight Tracker - YouTube)