ADS-B 1090 and 978 on a single Pi?

I got a Senry for Christmas, so I am repurposing my old Stratux for Flightaware. I have it up and running, and it seems stable, however, I am only seeing 1090 traffic whenI look on FA. Is there a way to send my 978 data as well? I’m willing to build a second unit just for 978, if that’s what’s required.

Also, is there a way for me to see the raw data that the Pi is pushing out to FA?

Any help is appreciated.
TIA

1 Like

There’s currently nothing “out of the box” to do this but there is some discussion here: PiAware 3.x and Dump978

If you mean the raw ADS-B frames, they’re on TCP port 30005

If you mean the summary reports that go to FA, that’s not directly available but you can simulate it by:

$ /usr/lib/piaware/helpers/faup1090 --net-bo-ipaddr localhost --net-bo-port 30005 --stdout 

(though I don’t know it’s going to be hugely interesting as the format is very FA-specific)

Thanks. At least it’s a place to start. I’m a newbie, so I’m sure I’ll encounter a learning curve. Is there a particular reason why there isn’t an out of the box solution for 978? I kniow that it’s specific to the US, but there are a ton of GA aircraft out there that aren’t being seen on FA.

1 Like

@stonedcrab

Try “ADS-B Receiver Project Setup Scripts”. It offers to installs both dump1090-fa / mutability, and dump978.

If you already have dump1090-fa or dump1090-mutabiluty existing, it will install only dump978.

ADS-B Receiver Project Setup Scripts

2 Likes

In my area most of GA planes seemed to switched to ADS-B. I was getting less “hits” from UAT (978MHz) than ADS-B on small planes, so I have used the receiver for something else.
I might put it up again if I have a decent antenna for 978MHz. Anyway the range is way smaller than the ADS-B (because planes flying lower).