Weird turn-around right above Las Vegas

Excuse my newb-ness… but Saturday morning (jan 9, 2010), around 10 or 10:30am we were driving and WAY up in the air (at least 20k feet) we saw a contrail of a large jet that had done a relatively “sharp” 180 turn. If I am orienting myself corectly, it was flying about SW and turned back to fly NE. I’m no airplane expert but the plane looked like a commercial type plane.

This was almost directly above McCarran airport but WAY up in the air. Didn’t seem like normal traffic to me.

Anyway, I am lost and can’t figure out how to find the tracking of it and/or figure out what could have been going on…

More than likely, this aircraft was in the corridor on J60 heading down to the SoCal Basin. More than likely, it was headed to LAX. But a good place to start would be to check the arrivals in that time frame to every major commercial airport in the LA Basin (KLAX, KSNA, KLGB, KBUR, KONT). It’s a needle/haystack situation, but that will give you somewhere to start.

BL.

Could you tell how many engines the aircraft had? Maybe buy looking at the contrails?

Pretty sure there were 4 engines, there was 2 contrails (one on either side) and I think those were made up of 2 smaller ones.

I was hoping there was a way to look at a snapshot in time of the flights during that time and look at their flightpaths?

Okay… this does narrow it down.

If there were 4 sets of contrails, that leaves you with a B747, or A340 coming from the Northeast. Only places in the LA Basin that has those two coming in consistently are KONT and KLAX. If you have a timeframe on when this happened, add 40 minutes to it (this allots for flight time from KLAS to the basin) and see if any arrivals to those two airports at that arrival time made a turn back to the northeast and diverted.

Only place they could go if it were a medical diversion would be SLC, or continue on to SoCal. Either one would have taken the same amount of time to fly.

BL.