Nascar Changing Tail Numbers

I am relatively new to Flight Aware, so forgive me for perhaps asking a stupid question. I have looked through the archives and didn’t find an answer to this question.

It would seem apparent that the NASCAR drivers would have to change tail numbers on a somewhat frequent basis. IE: Jeff Burton’s N31JB a couple years ago. Does anyone know what is required to get your tail number changed?

I just took delivery yesterday on my Diamond DA-42 TwinStar. It is Super!!! I figure if the NASCAR guys do it, I need to come up with some catchy tail number. :slight_smile:

Thanks all !

Welcome to Flight Aware!

Not sure why you would assume Nascar drivers would need to change tail numbers on a frequent basis, but if I wanted to reserve a custom one, I might start at the FAA Registry System.

You can find more info by contacting these people

Only reason for them to change N numbers is if their car number changes. I think Jeff previously was N99JB. When he changed from Roush racing to the Childress #31 car he changed it to N31JB.

I still think that, if it is available and you DON’T like teams from NY, you can always do NYYSUX, NYMSUX, or just NYSUX. For some reason, this voice in my head is telling me that you can’t do any fo them for some reason…eh, it will come to me.

Here it comes:

N-Numbers consist of a series of alphanumeric characters. U.S. registration numbers may not exceed five (5) characters in addition to the standard U.S. registration prefix letter “N”. These characters may be one (1) to five (5) numbers (e.g., N12345), one (1) to four (4) numbers and one (1) suffix letter (ex. - N1234Z), or one (1) to three (3) numbers and two (2) suffix letters (N123AZ). To avoid confusion with the numbers one and zero, the letters “I” and “O” may not be used.

An N-Number may not begin with zero. The first zero in a number must be preceded by at least one of the numbers one (1) through nine (9). For example, N01Z is not valid.