Multiple Feeds and Maximum Range

Hello there!

I am fairly new to the world of ADSB, and was curious if anyone can point me in the right direction to setup feeding to other services (ADSBExchange or elsewhere) as well as FA. I would rather not have to re-image my SD card (if possible).

I currently have this antenna : https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013S8B234/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I was curious if it can be put outdoors, or if anyone has tips to improve range. I currently have it sitting on a window-sill.

Install the ADS-B Receiver Project from script, not/not from image, if you want to keep what you already have. That said, I would go with the image installation.

This will work even if I am running PiAware? Iā€™m just wondering how I can simply add new feeds, but since I went with PiAware over some linux based OS - it makes it ā€œharderā€?

Just looking for some guidance.

Thatā€™s a slippery slope, soon you will end up with a $40 antenna on roof like many of us :smiley:

3 Likes

I was hoping to put it on the roofā€¦but the cable from the receiver ā€”> antenna is fairly short.

Iā€™m currently seeing just under 100NM

If you can install an antenna outdoors, suggest the FA antenna. If the budget is limited, search for the QuickSpider antenna here in the discussion forum.

Yeah I would likely return the indoor-ish one, and get the outdoor. Just have to make sure I have enough wire running to my Pi.

For affordable cable, use RG-6, this is the one used for cable and satellite TV.

Does the FA antenna come with any cable?

Bake a Pi

It has following sections:
OPTION-1: Piaware SD card image
OPTION-2: Raspbian image + Piaware (add-on) + dump1090-fa (add-on)
OPTION-3: Raspbian image + Piaware (add-on package) + dump1090-mutability v1.15~dev

Additional Data Feeders: Installation of Flightradar24, Planefinder, and Adsbexchange data feeders.