GV Test Flight

Any guesses?

flightaware.com/live/flight/GLF3 … /KATW/KATW

Just showing off again I guess, but would take a lot to top this one,

flightaware.com/live/flight/GLF1 … /KATW/KATW

Cold soak cabin checkout (no rattles on a new $50m jet!).

:laughing:

That’s great!

Did they have smoke coming out to spell ‘GV’?? :laughing:

That it, by far, the coolest thing I’ve seen all day. Kudo’s to that flight crew, whoever they are (as well as you for finding that). Awesome!

inb4Cessna

induringCessna, I guess:

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/N750CX/history/20080307/1745Z/KICT/KICT

Thanks!

Man, I forgot about that one! That tops the GV I think.

Yeah - badass as well! Okay - I’m a civil designer and have spent several years surveying but am just a student pilot as far as aviation goes. One aspect of surveying is entering points from a CAD file into data collectors to be staked out in the field and vice-versa (retrieving points from collector and mapping in CAD). How hard is it to plan a flight like that - to get a path like that, and is recognizable on that large of a scale? Essentially, this is the same thing, on a much larger scale and I would imagine much more difficult to plan/map out. On the other hand, I could see where this, depending on the type of aircraft, could be as similar as playing with an etch-a-sketch too…

My flight paths look like a hockey stick…

It took me about a half an hour to plan my proposed “Big W” flight using my Garmin MapSource software. I typed a 200-point W in MS Word and printed it out on paper, then cut the W out as a template. I held the W up to my computer screen showing the GPS software and marked the waypoints at all the corners. That took about 15 minutes or so. Then I had to do a little tweaking to get the demensions to come out to where there was an airport about halfway through the trip so I can refuel and qualify the flight time as cross country. The additional tweaking took about another 15 minutes or so.