G5 Flight path for today 02-06-07

I have benn watching this flight all day long, and it turns out there test flight they spelled “GV” in the sky.Has anyone else seen this before??..I dont know how to post the flightaware page or i would link it…sorry im a newbie The flight number is GLF17…

Just copy and paste the URL for the flight’s lookup page:

flightaware.com/live/flight/GLF17

Thanks for the tip, like I said im a newbie at posting on here. And also thank you for posting the link .

That’s one of the coolest tracks I’ve seen here. :slight_smile:

No problema, welcome to the Asylum.

That is awesome. I thought about doing it a while back with my name in cursive, but that’s awesome. One of the largest letters ever made!

digg.com/space/Gulfstream_Test_F … _8h_Flight

Now that’s cool. Looking at it a little, it really wouldn’t be that hard to do. Plot all the points on a map transfer that to the FMS and away you go. 8.5 hours though, hey it’s only money. Al Gore will be mad though :unamused:

The main reason for such a LONG flight is the aircraft probably just came out of the completion center. They do this to make sure EVERYTHING is working and that simple things as the booze cabinet will still open after the aircraft has been cold soaked at altitude for hours so the boss can have the scotch and water. They also look for any interior problems that might be caused by the cold altitude and that the heating system will keep everybody warm too.

They actually do quite a bit of testing if you have an airband scanner they use the callsign “gulftest” or “gulfstream test”,living in the southeast they fly around here quite a bit and ive caught 5 of their test flights.

I was on a flight like this in a G4 after they updated some engine modules. They needed to check out engine performance in several flight regimes. Note the altitude changes.

Definitely a cool flight track.

The historical link is
http://flightaware.com/live/flight/GLF17/history/20070206/1538Z/KATW/KATW