Guide to install PiAware on Raspberry Pi 4

As a newbie I had some trouble sorting this, so I am setting out the steps that FlightAware and others on this forum showed me. Basically the PiAware SD image will not work on the Pi 4, as it needs updating. However, PiAware can be installed successfully using the command line in Raspbian Buster.

You need to type the following lines. Each needs to be loaded with the Enter key:

sudo apt update
sudo apt dist-upgrade
sudo reboot

wget http://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/files/packages/pool/piaware/p/piaware-support/piaware-repository_3.7.1_all.deb

sudo dpkg -i piaware-repository_3.7.1_all.deb

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install piaware

sudo piaware-config allow-auto-updates yes
sudo piaware-config allow-manual-updates yes

sudo apt-get install dump1090-fa

sudo reboot

After all that, make sure you claim on the FlightAware site and enter your location co-ordinates. If you don’t, MLAT will not work!

8 Likes

Thanks for this tuto !
Is it possible to change the “piaware-repository_3.7.1_all.deb” with the “piaware-repository_3.7.2_all.deb” version, or is it not working with a Pi4 ?

1 Like

They’re actually identical except for the version number.

1 Like

Thanks, so i’m using the last version the 3.7.2 :wink:

Worked perfectly on Raspberry Pi4. Thanks.

Thank you so much, works great!!

Are you using ubuntu? or? bit confused

You are a champion. Thanks mate.
I just took delivery of my prostick and aerial and couldnt install pi aware on my raspi 4.
Cheers

@tgbonnici

Which version of Piaware you installed?
If you have used commands given in this thread, then you have installed old version, either 3.7.1 or 3.7.2

The current version is 4.0. Go to this page to find the command for latest version:

https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/install

Yoy can check installed version by following command

sudo apt-cache policy piaware

1 Like

Hi mine is 4.0 I just checked.