Wifi on Raspberry Pi

So I’m a newbie when it comes to the whole Raspberry Pi thing, but I couldn’t help but pique my interest when I saw the squawk for building your own ADS-B receiver. I read in the set up instructions on FA’s page, that the USB wifi receiver had to be plugged into the unit via the USB extension cable. I don’t quite understand this. Why can’t I just plug the wifi adapter directly into the unit?

You can if it fits. Some of the dongles & adapters are chunky enough that they don’t both fit. That’s all.

I asked on the forum a similar question for the flightfeeder. Since i got no answer i did not use a dongle but i used an old wifi router instead.

My setup is now: flightfeeder (raspberry pi) network output → UTP cable → router → wifi → router → modem → internet.
the router connected to the flightfeeder is configured as Client Bridge, so it connects wirelessly to a wifi router two floors below to connect to the internet. Problem solved.

The FlightFeeder does not currently support WiFI dongles, sorry about that.

just trying to help dbaker :slight_smile:
It worked for me, maybe for others…

wifi dongles on the Pi can be a PITA to get to work.

The only trouble I had setting up the Edimax adapter we recommend was that it would not connect to my 5GHz network at home. Once I switched to the 2.4GHz SSID it worked like a charm, with no unusual setup needed. I configured mine via ssh rather than go to the trouble of connecting a TV/keyboard, but I’m pretty comfortable on the command line.

Also, I did not get the USB extension cable and did not need it to connect both the Wifi and receiver dongles. Honestly, I’d be more likely to use the extension for the receiver, since it’s pretty bulky.