Tethered balloon site

I’m a newbie to this forum. I recently started running a PiAware rig and it does well in terms of craft/positions counted. But there are “holes” in the coverage due to local topology - there are steep hills nearby.

So I began thinking about a tethered balloon to raise the PiAware rig ~100 meters, say. (About the limit for E’net over Cat-5. :slight_smile: I searched the forum for balloons but didn’t find anything that addressed my interest. I did find some nice pix of the Albuquerque balloon fest.

Has anyone deployed a PiAware under a tethered balloon?
Has anyone opened a discussion topic about it that I should go read?
Is there a good reason not to try it?

Looking for whatever input I can find on this topic at the moment. Thanks.

Well, that is a let’s say novel idea, although there are people known to have used a crossbow to shoot an antenna cable up in a tree. :wink:

There is a hobby called High altitude balloons, they do something different but maybe there is some inspiration or carry-over.

http://www.randomengineering.co.uk/Random_Aerospace/Welcome.html

You could also use heywhatsthat.com to see your current limitations and how it would be affected by being higher from the ground. Maybe it it is not worth the trouble.

The list of difficulties is probably rather long. How to power it, does POE work in such distances, are there government regulations not allowing it, HOA, other family members, extrem weather, storm, heat in the summer, cost of a balloon carrying the payload, maintenance of a balloon, do balloons even exist who stay in the air for a prolonged time?

2 Likes

There are certain people using tethered Balloons, not sure if they also receive ADS-B.
Pretty sure they are not feeding FlightAware though:

Definitely check how long of a tethered balloon / kite you are allowed to fly in your local jurisdiction.

I would probably go with WiFi and a lighter power cable.