Hi All, noob with questions I can't find answers to

Hi Everyone,

I only just got my Pi3 up n running today so I’m new to this and have quite a few logistics to sort out for a permanent piaware installation as well as a few questions.

1. Why does my skyview sometimes show ACFT that don’t appear in the flightaware live? Dare I mention it but, Flightradar24 agrees with my skyview feed so I’m pretty sure they’re not phantoms or anything. I refresh the live view a number of times but it doesn’t show these ACFT, but then another will take off and it will appear straight away.

2. Aerials and antenna height. I live in suburbia quite close to a capital city AD. With the stock $11 el-cheapo DVB-T aerial I bought, I got almost 70Nm range. Following advise from this forum I cut it down to exactly 67mm (almost half) and basically halved my range. I then mounted a large tin lid underneath and have ended up with about the same that I started with, so I’m wondering what the benefit of all of that was.

3. I’m am looking for ideas on a budget 3-5m antenna pole to get the antenna up a bit higher. I really don’t want to spend much on this atm and am a bit limited as I’m living in the afore-mentioned suburbia and also in a rental atm. I do have an air conditioner mounted to the roof that I’m sure I could bolt something to and am toying with the idea of using 2.5-3m length of pvc pressure pipe but I am thinking it might be too flexible.

4. Finally, If I was to build a simple spider antenna, is there any benefit for mounting 2 or 3 antenna in the same spot?

Sorry if these questions have been asked before but I have searched and not found anything.

Thanks.

You didn’t say what you are using for the SDR part of the system – hopefully it’s one of the FLightAware SDRs which has a built-in amplifier and filter.