Southwest (apparently) to Assign Seats

I just heard on the radio that WN is planning on assigning seats sometime in the near future. There’s supposedly an article in today’s Washington Post about it; I’ll look to add a link shortly. Apparently, the company has already spent $5 Million updating its website to allow for the change. This is all due to increased customer complaints about the herding, err, boarding process.
As someone who’s never flown Southwest, I have no personal experience with the airline. I have seen the T.V. show, and I’ve heard numerous personal accounts about the boarding procedures. Heard some pretty wild stories; some funny, some outrageous. Feel free to share your thoughts on the change, or any horror/funny stories you may have had w/ WN.

Found it for you.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/05/16/AR2006051601845.html

Google Finance is a great place to find stories like this quickly.

Dammit, pika. I just registered w/ the Post for nothing!! :wink:

Anyway, I screwed up the poll (imagine that). I changed the question w/out changing the wording of my answers. “Yes” should be “Good,” and “No” should be “Bad.” Also, ABC radio news made it sound like it was set in stone; obviously, it’s not (yet).

From the Washington Post (WP):

To get a preferred seat, passengers have to arrive at the airport hours before their flight to be among the first group to board. Or they have to remember to check in for their flight via the Internet at least 24 hours before to earn a spot in that early-boarding group.

The first part is not true. Even before the Internet check in, as long as you got to the airport an hour or so before the flight, you could get a boarding pass in the first group. Hell, the check-in counter didn’t even open for a given flight until one hour before departure.

WP:

With a herd of passengers stampeding onto the aircraft to find seats, some travelers have likened the airline’s boarding process to a cattle call.