Relatively low amount of aircraft with positions during daytime

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting so I would like to start by saying thanks to the community since this forum has helped me a lot with setting up my ADSB receiver location.

I am currently running the following setup: FA antenna → N to F → 3m quality coax → F to SMA → FA ProStick → USB pigtail → RPi 3 (PiAware, dump1090-fa with VRS server installed). It is working very well but I was wondering about a few things which I can’t find an explanation for myself. Following are some of my performance graphs:

As you can see, I’m averaging about 1300-1400 messages/s with 200-250 planes during the day. My question is: why is the percentage of aircraft without positions much higher during the day than during the night? The message rate per aircraft seems to be relatively low during the day when compared to nighttime, which also might be a contributing factor. I wouldn’t expect that aircraft broadcast more messages during nighttime for some reason.

I’ve been thinking about this and have a few ideas:

a) Hardware limitations - Either the ProStick or RPi can’t keep up with the amount of incoming messages. If it were indeed a hardware ‘issue’ (it really isn’t an issue since performance is pretty great), I’d suspect it to be the ProStick since the Pi runs at about 20% CPU.
b) Software limitations - I’ve read somewhere that the practical limit for dump1090 seems to be around 1600 messages per second, but can’t verify that claim.

I’d like to improve my setup if that’s feasible and am curious to hear your thoughts! Thanks in advance,

Willem

hi willern,