Problem, picking nothing up

Hi everyone, Ive been using Flight Aware for about 12 months, at first it was ok with a few aircraft being picked up but not much. I changed my antenna to improve things a bit which it did but not a lot( 15-20 aircraft up to 30-40).It was ok for a bit but then I did not look at it for a few weeks and when I did there were NO aircraft showing up on the map.
I have recently changed my antenna to a Broadsword ADSB antenna and it has only improved to about 2-4 aircraft showing on the map.
My set up is, Broadsword ADSB Antenna on top of the house fed by approx 1.5 mtrs of RG6 to NooElec Smart box directly onto a Rpi 3 then wirelessly(?) to my laptop. Hope someone can point me in the right direction but please be aware that I am not a IT expert so laymans terms if poss,TIA.

Can be everything.

• Cabling
  • Antenna faulty
  • Wrong gain

Are you operating this without any additional filter? That can also be a reason for bad reception. Unlikely that it’s a software issue as it was working before

sudo apt update
sudo apt install -y rtl-sdr
sudo systemctl stop dump1090-fa piaware
sudo rtl_test
sudo systemctl restart dump1090-fa piaware

Show the tuner / output of the rtl_test command
That’s assuming you have SSH access already? ( For Beginners - How-to SSH to RPi - Setup Putty in Windows)

Foxhunter, the antenna is brand new from an accomplished antenna maker, the cabling is brand new as well. What is gain and how do I change it??.

Just because it’s new it doesn’t mean to be working.
I bought a HDMI cable recently which was faulty right from the beginning…

Gain is a setting to tell the stick how “strong” the stick should take the signals.
Details here:

gain is a red herring …
The default settings are maximum gain, if anything you don’t get stuff near the receiver.

But if range is bad … gain is not the issue usually.

Well unless someone reduced the gain.