Private Aircraft Database

Hey guys and gals,

First time poster, here. I’m a graduate student with an intent to conduct research on airplanes and property tax systems. But before I can come to any conclusions, I need to collect data on all private, non-military planes. Specifically, I would like to get information about all registered airplanes in the continental U.S. including their identification number and comprehensive flight history. Specifically, I need data dating back to about year 2000.

I’m just sort of starting my research, and I was pleasantly surprised to stumble upon such an active, engaging discussion board where folks kind enough might be able to point me in the right direction.

If I understand correctly, FlighAware doesn’t allow access to such comprehensive data sets unless contacted through their commercial services. Is that correct? Also, I know that this site has only been compiling flight information since 2005, so I need to find a more retroactive database. If anybody has any tips or links on where to find such a database, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Good luck.

I can’t think of any database with all of the information you require. A comprehensive flight history is going to be impossible for all private aircraft. That is not data that is required to be reported. For one thing most light aircraft fly under VFR (visual flight rules) so there may not be a record of most of their flights anywhere except in the aircraft or pilot logbooks. Most airports will keep track of aircraft that paid parking fees, but that usually applies only if the aircraft spent the night away from home and would not show where they came from.