Piper Saratoga Lean of Peak operations

I have gotten multiple conflicting opinions/reports on this topic, so I’ll throw it out to the board. Is it safe/wise/risky/etc to run a 1993 Piper Saratoga’s 300hp Lycoming lean of peak? I only have one CHT gauge and an EGT gauge.

What fuel burn are others getting at altitude?

Although I have zero experience with a Saratoga, the common wisdom I have usually heard on LOP operations is to only do so if you have a an engine anaylzer that shows CHTs for all cylinders. That way you don’t chance burning out one cylinder that is running a little leaner than the one you have a CHT for.

Do not run the TIO-540 Lean of Peak. If you want it to last run it 150 degrees Rich of peak.
what ever you do STAGE COOL, STAGE COOL, STAGE COOL.

If you install GAMI injectors & a 6 point egt/cht monitor; then it is okay, only when pulling less than 70-65% power.

The folks at GAMI have a lot of research on this and really know their stuff.
Most all the old propliners ran lean of peak in cruise (AT LOW POWER)

If you want power; then you need to burn something… & I highly suggest it be fuel and not your pistons and cylinders.

High RPM, High Temps & High cylinder pressure is what kills and engine. Keep them low and it will last longer.

My $0.02 fuel is cheaper than cylinders,

I’ve always run rich of peak. more gas running through will keep it cooler, lessening the risk of burning a valve or head etc.

The general consensus reached on another forum was not to run LOP on turbocharged engines, over 75% power and be fully equipped i.e. full CHT and EGT gauges with sensors on each cylinder. That was not engine specific, just in general. Some of the higher time pilots said they would not run lean over 65% power and a few brought up specific engines they would not do it on, though I don’t remember which ones. The thread was interesting to read but since my present ride does not have a mixture control I admit I did not pay more attention to it.