photographing aircraft

**I am an avid photographer of aviation. **

I was recently reading about someone who is also an aviation photographer, and he photographed a plane before it crashed. It effected him alot mentally. And he is thinking about quitting photography all together.

I have been very lucky to not photographed any aircraft that has crashed. But it got me thinking alot. What would happen if I photographed a plane, then later I heard it in the media of it crashing. How would that effect me?

So my question is - Have you photographed an aircraft before it crashed?
If so, how did it effect you? Are you still doing aviation photography?

To me there is a huge difference in photographing an aircraft that at a later date is lost in an accident - and actually photographing or witnessing the accident.

I say this because I’ve taken photos of at least a dozen bizjets that perished in accidents. As a private pilot, and aviation enthusiast - I’m concerned about accidents, but my interest is learning the causes - and hopefully learn something from them.

All loss of life is tragic, if a crash occurs - I’m not really thinking about the people on board in the sense of my interest - I’m certainly aware and respect that lives were lost.

Google any registration of a downed aircraft, and it’s not unusual to find a dozen photos. So I guess it would be normal to take a moment while looking at the photo and realize what has happened, but I certainly wouldn’t take it personally.

Just my opinion.

I’m sorry but that’s just dumb.

I dunno if dumb is the right word, but I agree its a little far. I’ve flown 2 airplanes regularly that I know of that ended up in fatals, I’ve also flown 2 more that received major yet repairable damage.

As an airline employee I worked on one aircraft that killed 14 several years later. I also saw a crew the day before that would end up in a runway incursion the next day killing close to 20.