Part 91 private pilots wearing epaulettes .

I am a private pilot working on my xc requirements for my instrument rating. My co-pilot or “hood buddy” insists on wearing epaulettes every time we fly. Normally I wouldn’t consider wearing a uniform since I’m not the show off type. However, I’m a little bit sick of going places and being asked how my flight training is coming or being treated as a student and not a pilot. Also, whenever we bring our friends on flights I’m always asked about why I’m not dressed up all official or why I’m only wearing jeans and a t shirt. Needless to say, it’s getting old. Getting him to not wear epaulettes is absolutely out of the question. Is it normal for private pilots to do this?

:blush: I think I’d get one of those "I’m with stupid shirts with the arrow pointing his way and wear that everytime. Out embarrassing can go along way.

Funny, but I don’t want to be a jerk either.

I would say your co pilot has some severe adequacy issues. We have a word for such people in the firefighting world, WACKER!

not in a jerk way but a joking see how silly this is? kinda way

As a former line guy, I would probably laugh my head off if some part 91 guys came in and one dude was in a dress shirt with epaulets. Seriously. If you’re not part 135 or 121 and on an actual revenue trip, it’s pretty silly to wear them. You could make it a game and wear the same gitup with epaulets as well…wear Captain epaulets if he’s wearing FO epaulets, or if you could find them with 5 stripes all the better. :laughing: Don’t really see much else you can do about it though other than not fly with him.

Get the shirt. :wink:

sounds like a tool bag.

Nah, he’s a nice guy, he just reminds me of Michael Scott from “The Office”.

in hockey, unless you have just won it, it is a curse to touch the Stanley cup without winning it. Maybe make something up like I don’t want to jinx my possible future career by wearing them just yet.