N539DS comin' across the pond.

Looks like it’s landing at KCCR right now. I was told it’s arriving tomorrow for Island Air (WP) here in Honolulu (PHNL) , but I don’t see a flight plan yet. First -400 for the puddle jumpers out here. I’m pretty excited…that’s one HUGE Smash 8!

I’ll post a few pictures of it landing if I can remember to check the arrival time before I head to work at 0300… blech.

and this would be…??

Sorry. I was a a little cryptic, but unintentionally. Dash-8-400.

Ugh. Thats a LONG flight in a prop. I wonder how much extra gas they put inside that thing.

–spud–:slight_smile:

I was going to peek inside but I had to go do some stuff for my current job. I used to work as a dispatcher for a short while for WP so that’s why I was interested in the Q400. From what I recall in the -100s though they take out the seats and have these two HuuUUUuUUUge fuel bladders.

Man that Q400 is long. I saw it as it went overhead PHNL to set up for the approach. At first it looked like a goofy 717 or something until I looked through my camera lens.

They even did a “low pass” down 8R, aka “The Reef Runway”. A bunch of pilots for WP were having a meeting in a nearby building. I was madly text-messaging one of them (a friend) with position updates. He said it was hillarious - this Q400 goes screaming by just as the CEO started his talk. Couldn’t have timed it better.

Turns out I think I was the only one that got touchdown photos. Sometimes I love my job… I’m closer to aviation now than I was as a dispatcher. :wink: A little heat blur though because it landed at 1400. How inconsiderate of them, huh?

Please remember to post the link, too. In this case, it is flightaware.com/live/flight/N539DS

It’s better than flying the trip in a pencil jet. Have you ever been in a DHC-8?? It is one of the roomiest commuters you can ride in (or fly). Am I partial???