Gain and Noise

Hi,
I am new to this and am trying to tweak my gain to get the best I can. I currently have a PiHut 1090Mhz antenna in my attic, 5m of cable and then a Sawbird+ connected directly to my SDR dongle. I seem to be able to track lots of flights (up to 80) with lots of positions and distance of almost 200nmi but sometimes the message interval varies especially for position. For example a plane can go from updating every few milliseconds to more than a minute and its distance has not changed. I have been looking at the graphs and have noticed that no matter what gain I set my noise is always higher than my weakest signal and after reading other posts on this forum I am not sure if that is correct and if its not what I need to change.

This is all the data I currently have as I rebuild my Pi today.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Brian

It is quite normal.I think the answer is in this thread:

Ah perfect, I will take a look, thank you.

1 Like

An antenna in the attic (which is also my setup) probably has dead zones due to reflections of the received signal. Tweaking gain won’t help with that.

1 Like

Ok thank you.I will just work based off the < 3db signal then and aim for around 5%.

Is it better to have a higher or lower minus number for weakest signal? Is -34 better than -25 for example. I know -25 means the signal is stronger I am just not sure if not having weaker ones makes a difference or means I am missing stuff or simply the further ones I am picking up are coming through clearer. I only get the higher weaker ones when I decrease gain so I think I know the answer I just want to check.

I hope this makes sense.

Yes, -34 would be better than -25 provided the highest value stays the same.
The difference between the highest signal probably around -1 and the lowest is your dynamic range.
You want that difference to be as large as possible.
It will be limited however by the hardware (dongle) you are using.

1 Like