Fly From US to Canada (Seattle to Victoria)

Hello!

I’m an instrument private pilot visiting Seattle and hoping to get some air time while here. Canada is so close, I’d love to fly up that way (Victoria?) but never flown outside the States. Does anyone know any details/howtos on this? I plan to call some local FBOs for rentals tomorrow, but trying to research this tonight.

Thanks for any tips!

My advice is to hire a pro pilot for the whole trip. You’re going to have to do a minimum 1hr checkout. The weather forecast is not pleasant and your route is over salt water with a lot of changing weather patterns in that area. Going to Canada and coming back requires extra planning.

You might want to consider taking a ferry. Do you have your passport with you? Clouds are at 400-600 feet right now. You won’t see anything from an airplane.

Generally speaking, operations from the US to Canada are easy. All this is about to change with new regulations, so now would be a good time to have a go. AOPA has great resources for this info.

Call 1-800-CAM-PASS to get a customs clearance. it’s as easy as that

Or, you could call 1-800-CAN-PASS :smiley:

You have to take into account the requirements for coming back in to the U.S. Going to Canada is easy, coming back is a little more involved. You must choose the Airport of Entry closest to your point of border crossing and give prior notice to the Customs office there. Ie. you couldn’t fly direct from Vancouver to Portland without an overflight permit.
The following links have all the info you would need. Have fun!

aopa.org/members/pic/intl/ca … efing.html

aopa.org/members/airports/pd … al_ops.pdf

BLAH- maybe that’s why I couldn’t get a hold of them last time I was in CAN.

Also you can fly from Vancouver to Portland and never have to see a customs agent.