Erratic flight path

I am new to FlightAware so forgive me if this topic has been discussed before. Please look at the flight below. It is a short flight from LSE to RST. I was in and out of the cloud tops for most of the trip. I was on autopilot for almost the entire trip and I do not belive the small heading deviations that I am seeing on this chart. Could the clouds have caused deviations in the radar returns that would explain this erratic flight path?

http://flightaware.com/live/flight/N429CP/history/20060826/2001Z/KLSE/KRST

If you think it might have been disscused before why don’t you search the forum? BTW it hasn’t, but please search the Forum/FAQ before you post. Uhhhhh. I don’t really know the answer to your question. Maybe Daniel or Mark could help you (moderators).

Welcome to the forum! 8)

It is possible that FA was receiving position reports from two radar sites. As the crusie alt was 4000, I would suspect that the signal return was marginal on one or both of the radar sites. Typically, the result of this is a jagged, or sawtoothed path, but it is conceivable that the spurious reports merged and got smoothed by the processing done on the flight path to make the 1 minute resolation of data from FAA less visible.

PS- Welcome to FA and the forums!

I bet it was one of those guys who got his private in 40 hours and wasn’t capable of tracking the vor because of the lack of experience (sarcasm).

That’s actually one of the better “bad flight paths” I’ve seen.

Yea, looks like two radar sites were reporting postions for that 172. Note that there are two position reports per minute in the tracklog; usually there is only one.
The short distance of the flight also magnifies the side-to-side motion.

What a great example of the positional accuracy of the FAA’s enroute radar.

That graphic track really does a good job of showing the reason for the 5 mile enroute separation. It looks like the two radars differ by 1-2 nm.