Dump978 and multiple feeds questions and more....

Hi,

My first time to post. I am a new feeder, here in the Asheville, NC area. Started out with FR24, but after starting to use VRS, I realized I had no MLAT data fed back, so I dumped them. I only do this as a hobby anyway.

A couple of questions and observations. So I am a pilot, used to fly SAR, and recently looked at the pros and cons regarding non encrypted data, Mode-S, ADS-B and MLAT. Had an interesting discussion with another pilot I used to work with who insisted, military flights are blocked. Well, only partially as I expect most of you know. Feed the decoded data to VRS, and while there might not be a “Call Sign”, they sure come up as to who they are registered to (USAF for example) in VRS. That was interesting.