Coding an app for the FlightAware USB stick pro

My first post. I am totally new to ADS-B; just bought a FlightAware USB stick pro and an antenna and want to play around with them.

I am software developer, so would welcome advice for other coders.

Basically, I wan to read the data from my FlightAware, send it my server and place it into a database whence various software which I code can read it, manipulate it, display it, send alerts - the usual stuff.

I would strongly prefer to develop in Windows, falling back to Linux if that won’t work, and, as last choice, the Raspberry Pi (4 or Zero W).

Is it as simple as just opening a serial port and reading? Would I be advised to run dump1090 and process its output?

I am itching to get coding. Any advice on how best to proceed will be gratefully accepted

Yes.
Reading the aircraft.json is probably be the way to go. (not sure if dump1090-mr has that even)
dump1090-fa which doesn’t run on Windows i think (not sure, try and compile) has some more fields, but not sure which info you need.

Maybe just read the code of dump1090 … that will tell you how it interfaces with the SDR.

1 Like

Thanks for a quick and informative reply. I appreciate that a lot of effort has gone into the development of dump1090, and have no desire to reinvent the wheel.

My initial reaction was to link the dump1090 into my own app, but, on reflection, I may as well run it from the command line and capture its output/redirect its output into my app.

Since I am using Windows for most of my development work, I will try in a Linux VM run from Windows. I don’t really see the need for the Raspberry Pi (yet).

Thanks

Really the most useful interface is probably the aircraft.json, it’s normally written once a second.

I suppose you could parse

./view1090-fa --no-interactive

But that seems complicated.
If you mostly want to use aircraft positions … aircraft.json is the best bet.