API vs Website

We have an issue with a specific flight: MP8341. For some reason, there seems to be a different information on FlightAware’s website from what we are retrieving from its API.

I hereby attach a document with the full description. We would really appreciate you to look into this matter and provide a fix or explanation of the issue.

What information do you believe is different? You have not included any output from the API.

Be sure that you are looking at the same flight for the same day, since it is easy to mix up the days of recurring flights.

One additional consideration to keep in mind… You should try to use ICAO identifiers when possible in order to avoid confusion. For that Martinair flight, those should generally be MPH8341 rather than MP8341.

Hi, Bovineone. Thanks for your quick reply. I’m a developer working for GeodisSCO.

The main difference was the following:

Flightaware website shows data for flight MPH8341 AMS to NBO on 12/17/2020, but when searched via the api:

https://flightxml.flightaware.com/json/FlightXML3/FlightInfoStatus?ident=MPH8341

information with this specific origin and destination was not present (issue was present on December 22nd).

I have ran the request to the API again today, and now I do see the info. However, a week ago it wasn’t there and caused some issues to one of our systems.

Do you have any idea why this may have happened?

Thanks!

Martinair is a cargo operator, which in general will have lower tracking accuracy as cargo operators do not generally have the need/desire to transmit their FLIFO data to us through the same systems that passenger airlines do. Additionally, that flight is operating outside of our primary coverage areas, so we are unable to receive full ATC data for that flight. Furthermore, portions of that flight operated outside of our positional coverage areas, which means that some portions of the flight we were estimating/projecting its current position based on last known information.