AirlineFlightSchedules Beta long response time

Last few weeks AirlineFlightSchedules response times seem excessive. When searching a 24 hour period for say DEN to ORD with parameter howMany=150 the search often takes up to a minute, usually around 45 seconds. Then when performing the search again shortly after, it is returned in less than a second. I notice this across all routes that I havent searched in a while, say a couple of hours.

Being a software developer, I would guess they have caching on the backend and at some point the cache expires or is removed because of other queries being cached.

As to why it is slow, many reasons. It is probably running a query on a database of some kind (mysql, sqlserver, postgress). The database has lots of data and may not be indexed well or it might be indexed well just tons of data.

1 Like

I agree with and understand all of that. But the lag time didnt occur until recently. Possibly due to all the madness of flight schedules right now. It takes longer to return 2 flights on a route in a 24 hour period now than it did before to return say 30 flights on the same route back in February

Cool. I haven’t noticed much recently but my queries with

AirlineFlightSchedules

are the default limit of 15. I did notice one time that it did take like 20 seconds.

I’m going to have to look into my logs and see if there’s been a slowdown on my end, just out of curiosity.