Why are these two tracks so different?

I’m new at this. PiAware’s been running upstairs for three days.

Today I noticed a flight I was tracking looked very different on FlightAware.com versus my local view. I’m not sure I understand why. I’ve attached two screen grabs.

Can someone help me out understanding this?

Firstly, FA has tracked this as a bunch of separate flight segments, check you’re looking at the right one (you might need to look at more than one).

Secondly, this was a low flight (2000ft) so it was probably dropping in and out of your coverage, and the track you see locally is just the result of joining up the points you hear - which might skip a whole out-of-range part of the flight which is what looks like has happened with the big spike southwards in your local view - probably it flew out of range to the east, did a bunch of stuff that you didn’t hear, then came back more southerly.

Thirdly, FA does not necessarily use all the data you send, it is somewhat selective, so in general you’re never going to see exactly the same points.

I’m specifically talking about the actual location and compass orientation. They’re very different.

I can’t do much from just a screenshot of your local map unfortunately. What positions (and at what times) specifically are you looking at according to your local map?

On the flight page, you can look at the tracklog which will give you the positions/times that FA used.

Maybe I haven’t made myself clear. Those two maps are the same plane at the same (approximate) time. His flight pattern is reasonably distinct.

On the FlightAware version the ‘point’ of his flight points ESE. On my local look it points south.

It’s as if the entire displayed flight has been rotated 90 degrees or so from me to FA.

So, my question is, why?

I’m a bit curious too as I see the similarity to what you suggest, but have you noted any other flights exhibiting this behavior or is this a single anomaly?