Understanding Data from Graph

Hello all,

I need some help understanding a graph shown below.
There is a significant amount of single-message tracks. What does this exactly mean?
I’m guessing that these are aircraft which the receiver has only managed to pickup a single packet? If that’s the case, is there a way to improve this?

*Please don’t kill me if I don’t understand something; I’m new to this world & my PiAware is only 7 days old :laughing: *

My configuration:
Rpi 3B | FA Pro Plus Stick | Cheap £5 antenna | dump1090-fa package | graphs1090, timelapse1090 etc
Yes, I know I don’t have a decent antenna. I’m looking into some better ones without spending an excessive amount.

Thanks a bunch!!

It’s mostly noise not real aircraft.

The tracks graph is really not useful anyhow.
If you lose reception for a minute and gain reception again it counts 2 tracks … so you might improve reception and get less tracks.

Always tempted to remove it and replace it with another graphs or something.

1 Like

wiedehopf,
I appreciatively & respectfully disagree :slight_smile:
Please don’t remove it.

This specific graph and pondering why my tracks with single message or more than one message was the trigger point for discovering I needed to make some changes. It was extremely valuable as the pathway lead me to a whole new level of understanding.

Thank you!!!

JWarner2,
I hope this time-lapse video of charts, aircraft on map & data table view may help. Please forgive the roughness of it. I’m still working on a better capture to better highlight elements for those seeking better understanding (me included). Stepping the video forward frame by frame may assist in connecting the relationship dots.

Notice in the graph how the ratio of pink vs. green shift depending on various conditions. Having tracks with more than one message suggests a quality of sequence that’s good. Wiedehopf speaks truth that single message tracks are also positive and not general bad indicators.