Troubleshooting 'Other' data

I have recently set up a receiver (I am new to all of this), and have noticed I am getting a huge number of ‘Other’ category positions (more than valid ADS-B and MLAT positions combined).

I check the page from time to time, and note that sometimes I am synchronised with over 300 other MLAT stations, and sometimes only a handful.

I’m not sure where to start troubleshooting, or whether it’s just a symptom of poor antenna placement. I can’t do a lot better with what I’ve got, which is indoors, but if it’s a configuration issue I’d like to try and get to the bottom of it.

I have checked that the location is set correctly. Please let me know if you have any ideas or need further information, any help is appreciated.

First I’d suggest installing collectd data logging using @wiedehopf’s script: GitHub - wiedehopf/graphs1090: Graphs for readsb / dump1090-fa / dump1090 (based on dump1090-tools by mutability)

That will give you some data so you can compare the effect of what you change and it will give you a better insight than the FA stats alone. We need a bit more information before anyone can advise you on what to change. What is your current receiver setup? I’m assuming you are using an rtl dongle of some kind - what antenna/coax and any filtering or amp?

There’s all sorts of changes you can make depending on what you are doing at the moment which could help improve your results - if your only option is to have the antenna inside, then having it in a loft space will be better than in a room. If that’s not possible, try to have it in a window and away from other electronics (such as TVs and monitors, as they can be quite electrically noisy).

I would monitor it a while for some days.

I remember a friend of mine located in Tenerife had a power outage for almost a day which also brought his receiver down.
After he came back online, he also had a large number “other” which then went down to normal the next few days.