Fluctuating Positions

Hello All,

My coworker got me into flight tracking, and I’ve been hooked ever since. So, I’m still new to all this, but I’ve learned a lot in a short amount of time through this forum.

I’m having an issue with the number of day-to-day positions. See the first screenshot below. I’ve also added some performance screenshots for more reference. The positions fluctuate a lot despite the fact that the number of aircraft reported stays relatively constant. My antenna is currently setup by the window and is located indoors since I don’t have access to the roof. I’ve listed my hardware below. I thought that adding the Uputronics on 8/1 would help the situation, but it only accentuated the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Setup:

• Raspberry Pi 4
  • Uputronics 1090 Filter/Preamp
  • Piaware 5
  • Flightaware Pro Plus (blue dongle)
  • 1090 MHz ADS-B Antenna - 66 cm / 26 in
  • 25 ft Low-Loss Coaxial Extension Cable

Settings:

• Gain = -29.7

Some questions:

• I know that number of flights, time of day, and other factors play into the number of positions, but does it really fluctuate that much? I’ve compared my graphs to other sites within a 10 mile radius, and their numbers seem more stable.
  • I’ve set the gain down to -29.7. Should I lower the gain more? I lowered the gain briefly beyond -29.7, but that ended up increasing the messages > 3dbfs to roughly 20% maybe 30%.
  • When I looked at other people’s stats near my site, their positions/aircraft reported were relatively constant. My numbers fluctuate. For example, on 8/10 my positions/aircraft reported were roughly 169. The following day on 8/11, my numbers went down to roughly 132 despite having more aircraft reported than the previous day. Is the positions/aircraft reported a good metric to check the health of my system?