Strong amateur radio signal breaks 6.0 decoding

I host a VHF link to an amateur radio networked repeater. I’ve been running PiAware on a Zero-W for a couple of years. The decodes drop to zero when the link is active (as I would expect) but they returned to normal as soon as the link dropped.

I imaged a new SD card with 6.0 yesterday, and installed it in a Pi 3B+. It worked great! Lots more decodes than before. Unfortunately, when the link came up my decodes dropped to near zero, but don’t recover after the other transmission ends. I go from 500-600 decodes per second to 30 or less, and it stays there until I reboot. It’s fine from that point on, until the link comes up again.

I tried disabling the adaptive gain, but the problem persists. Any thoughts before I go back to the old configuration?

What do the dump1090 logs say? They’ll tell you what it is doing with gain.

With adaptive gain off, I’d expect no real difference between 5.0 and 6.0. I think you have something else going on here.

In the dump1090-fa/data/stats.json file, the gain goes from 43.4db to 0.9dB. Hmmm. That might be a problem! I guess I need to take another look at the gain settings and see what I missed. Thanks! Rick WØFH

Properly turning off adaptive gain worked. Thanks!

How much RF are you putting out and how close are the antennas?

Reading your description, you’ve made both a hardware change and a software change at the same time?
Try reverting one (but not the other) to see if the problem follows the hardware or software (my money is on hardware).

1 Like

I’d be interested in what it’s doing with adaptive gain on, if you still have those logs.

The dynamic range mode is not really designed to react rapidly to large changes in the noise floor, so I suspect what’s happening is that

a) dynamic range probes for a good gain setting and picks 43.4dB