Scholarships?????

Does anyone know where a strugling flight student can get scholarships? I am right on the edge of having to give up flying because it is too expensive and all of the scholarships I have looked into have turned out to be nothing.

do a Google search on flight training scholarship.

I have tried that in the past and found some great scholarships, the problem is that I am a freshman in college and 98% of the scholarships are for sophmores and above. It is hard for me to find something for a person just begining in aviation who doesn’t have wealthy parents to take care of everything. I do appreciate your suggestion though, so thank you for trying to help me out.

What I’m about to say may be blasphemous to a person learning how to fly.

If you can’t afford it right now, why not delay flight instruction until your sophomore year? I know you want to get all the flight time you can right now but it might be better to wait a few months when you do become a sophomore.

Waiting would also give you the time to have a part time job where you can save some money. I know most of my college expenses were born by me through part time and eventually full time jobs, although I did have some help from my grandparents.

Though it was difficult at the time, I feel that by paying for my own education I came out ahead. I’ve never really been a believer that parents owe their children a post-high school education. If the student pays for his own education (or at least a good portion of it) then he will appreciate it more.

Just my two cents. In any case, good luck in your educational endeavors.

I hate to say it but that’s probably what I will have to do, the only reason I didn’t want to wait until sophmore year is because I am very close to getting my license. I am almost finished with my cross country flights and after that it is a breeze to getting my license. But I think you are right I can just pick up where I left off next semester. I appreciate your help.