LLC aircraft ownership

hello. I am a Mexican Airline pilot, i would like to buy a basic VFR plane to fly it in the US ( below 20K cost). i was told, forming an LLC will be the best way to do so; i read to register a plane you must be a us citizen and if an LLC plans to register it has to be formed by US citizens. Is this true? if not where will be the best place to form the LLC and register the aircraft? where could i find info on this matter?
Thanks
JoseRo

You need to form an LLC through an attorney. If you’re not a citizen, why are you concerned with personal liability in the USA?

Imagine these guys wished they had some form of LLC..

It is not clear to me whether you want to own and register the plane in Mexicao and fly it sometimes in the US (which is easy to do) or you want to own and register the plane in the US and fly it in the US. IF the later, it is pretty complex and you should talk to an aviation attorney. Here are a few points that may help you:

The FAA says:

An aircraft is eligible for U.S. Registration if it is not registered in another country and it is owned by:

• a U.S. citizen as defined in 14 Code of Federal Regulations Part 47.2.
  • a Resident Alien (foreign individual lawfully admitted for permanent U.S. residence
  • a U.S. governmental unit or subdivision
  • a non-citizen corporation lawfully organized and doing business under the laws of the U.S. or one of the States as long as the aircraft is based and primarily used in the U.S. (60% of all flight hours must be from flights starting and ending within the U.S.)

So I think you are talking about point #4, a non-citizen corporation. My understanding, and you should check this, is that the LLC laws in some states require 51% ownership by a US citizen. You should also check out putting your plane into a trust. As I said, you really want to talk to an aviation attorney. AOPA has a list of them.