leaking oil on wing

I was recently on a US Airways flight from DC to Kansas City and noticed a lot of streaked oil or something smeared on the wing. Is this a safety issue? Is this common? Thanks!

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b218/adrock25/9db934b9-f69a-4444-a419-d656f0a64ffb.jpg

I don’t think it’s oil. It’s just streaks of dirt and dust I believe.

To me, it looks like dirt sticking to something wet. That’s why it would show up in streaks and only in one area. If it’s something wet, I would think fuel or oil. That’s why I wanted the experts opinions. From the area of the flaps, I was thinking hydraulic fluid, but I’m no plane mechanic. :slight_smile:

If it was dirt that stuck to something wet, it could have also happened a long time ago. Also, there’s no need to worry about losing hydraulic fluid as aircraft like this have 3 separate hydraulic systems that can perform all functions (double redundancy)

However, based where those streaks are coming from, it looks to be hinges or joints, so if there was some sort of fluid streaking down from there, I’m thinking it would be some sort of lubricant slowly oozing out of the hinge and not something under pressure coming out of a line.

It’s possible that at some point those parts were overlubricated which caused the buildup behind the flap edge.

It looks like several small leaks from hydraulic actuators. Fairly normal, the airplane obviously hasn’t been washed recently.

What John said. Looks like they’ve got leaks on one or two of the lift dump spoiler actuators and the pooled oil when the aircraft is on the ground is sucked onto the wing at speed.

Not a concern when in flight as the spoilers would NEVER be deployed as almost all aircraft so fitted have “squat” switches on the landing gear that ensure you’re in contact with the ground before the panels can be deployed.