Help newbie get on the right path

I’m a newbie quickly getting hooked on tracking planes with ADS-B. I’d appreciate any suggestions to put me on the right path to optimize my setup. I’m currently feeding FlightAware and ADSBexhange.

My setup:

• ADSBexchange 1090/978 N-Type antenna
  • 1ft RG8 Coax cable
  • BingFu SMA to dual SMA splitter
  • FlightAware Pro Stick (Orange) for 1090 Mhz
  • ASDBexhange Orange R860 dongle for 978 Mhz

My antenna and RPi3+ are currently installed in my attic. I eventually want to install it outside on a mast that will be extend a few feet above my roof. Before I mount the antenna on a mast outside, I’d like to optimize my setup.

I’m thinking that I will mount the antenna outside and will continue to use the very short coax cable/SMA splitter to connect the antenna to the dongles and use longer active USB cables to connect the dongles to the RPi. I want to RPi to be mounted below the roofline so that it is easier for me to access and service it.

I’d appreciate your help on a few questions:

• Would it be better to have two separate antennas going to the separate dongles or is ok to use the dual band antenna with the SMA splitter?
  • What data should I look at to determine whether I need to use filters and/or amplifiers for each of the frequencies?

Are there any other things I should be thinking about to optimize my setup?

Thanks

1 Like

Separate antennas for 1090 and 978 MHz would be better, but not hugely better. Probably the easiest thing to look at is “Nearby Sites” on your stats page to see what the best site is getting near you. (Although looking at your stats page, a “Nearby site” can be up to 100 miles away). Still might be useful though.

1 Like

Thanks. In looking at the sites within 75 miles of me, I have the most flights, but not the most positions. I’m still trying to learn how all of this works. How could a site have fewer flights than me but more positions?

1 Like