Flight numbers in Google Earth

Im a newbie using FlightAware on Google Earth,i need to know what means number like 11 v 115 under flight number .Thanks.

Altitude 1100 ft
Descending
Ground speed 115 knots

You’ll see this explicitly if you go to the Flight Track section for any aircraft still en route.

I would like more info on this. How does this work? Is there a place in Google earth to access FlightAware or do you start from Google earth? :exclamation:

I know you can use FBOweb with Google Earth, don’t know about FA.

I wrote a quick script a bit back that generates a flightpath in Google Earth from FA data here. Just enter the FA flight ID in the bottom text box and click the ‘Googke Earth 3D’ button, it should return a file which is readable by GE.

Very cool. Nice job. Would be a fun tool to use in flight!

bluzhound, I really like your script! Great job! Really shows the inconsistancies in reported altitude, though.

To everyone else: if you haven’t tried this one yet, you should give it a shot. And if you haven’t played with Google Earth yet, you should definately try that out, too.

:smiley: Bluzhound, Finally got around to looking at this. Way cool!!! Only thing is a flight in progress doesn’t load the whole flight if you are watching it’s progress. Must have something to do withthe way flightaware works though. I will definitely play with this though. :wink:

That is because the flight is still in progress, you can’t see the whole flight because it hasn’t happened yet. The end of the line you see is where the airplane is (nearly). If you watch it, you will see a new segment pop up every minute or so as the flight continues.

bluzhound, Nice improvements on the GE script. Do you think you will ever do one that loads all inbounds to a given airport. That would be interesting to watch. Wonder if that would tax the FA servers too much?

BTaylor!