Flight Aware Pro Stick Plus + Flight Aware Mode S Filter

Hi folk …

Still new to this area. Can someone advise me on the pro’s and con’s of the above combination.

The FA Pro Stick Plus states it’s got a built in filter … So do I need or is there any benefit of adding a FA 1090MHz Mode S filter? :confused:

Thanks in anticipation

nope - you don’t need a second filter. mount the pro stick plus as near as possible to your antenna and anything will be fine …

I’m very new at this but from what I’ve read that it may be beneficial for some to use and external filter with the FA Pro Stick Plus in high RF environments.

From FA site: “Most users will not need an external 1090 MHz filter, however in very high RF environments users may still benefit from an external 1090 MHz bandpass filter. Read more about setting up your FlightAware Pro Stick for optimal reception.”

Above quote found here flightaware.com/adsb/prostick/

I just got a ProStick Plus and FA antenna yesterday and when using the Prostick Plus + FA antenna I get way less planes that using the Prostick Plus + Nooelec aerial. I played with the gain settings without much success. I’ve got the FA 1090 Bandpass filter on order and hoping that this will help. I suspect the fact that there’s a cellphone transmitter 2 floors above me and another 2 about 800 meters away doesn’t help my current situation :neutral_face:

Hi both, thanks for your replies, always appreciated … more comments would be welcomed to get a better overall picture.

Interestingly enough with the FA 1090 Filter fitted to the FA Pro Stick + I was getting over Jersey (Channel Islands) 10 aircraft with 6 positions … then took the FA Filter out and got 16 aircraft with 13 positions :unamused:

Many thanks

John :slight_smile:

john your stick already has an built-in filter so the second (external) you bought is obsolete - that’s why you get the better results without.

Hi again Tom … thanks for your further comments - GREATLY appreciated :wink: