Adding layers to local skyaware with open layers

Hey guys, hoping to get a little knowledge on the coding side of the system. A little background, I’m an ATC Tower, and we currently use the skyaware view as our ground monitor, kind of like ASDE. I’m not a programmer whatsoever and I’ve seen other discussions about openlayers, but since I have no understanding of almost all of it, I just wanted to post up a question to see the possibility before searching out someone who knows JS.

Is it possible to create layers to stack, kind of like the US ARTCC and NEXRAD layers, but to draw rectangles pertaining to ILS critical areas, runway safety areas, and adding in markers for navaids on the field, and using a different layer button for each?
We’re looking to just modify the code locally through an override in the page source, since we’re on a flightfeeder and not our own piaware build.

Hope that makes sense and doesn’t sound stupid.

Sure. If you can get the polygons you want to draw in geojson format, you can just copy what’s done for the existing geojson layers here:

The parameters to createGeoJsonLayer are:

• the displayed name
  • a unique identifier that’s used to store whether the layer is enabled/disabled
  • the URL of the geojson file
  • fill color and line color for the polygons
  • true/false flag controlling whether to show labels from the geojson on the layer or not

If you do have a separate machine available (Pi, or whatever), you could set up skyaware (or tar1090, or whatever your viewer of choice is) with your modifications on there and have it take a datafeed from the FlightFeeder, rather than having to mess around in the browser.

(also: please please please don’t use the FlightFeeder data for anything safety critical!)

2 Likes

A dedicated Pi, with tar1090 installed, can have stuff like that programmed.
wiedehopf/tar1090: Provides an improved webinterface for use with ADS-B decoders readsb / dump1090-fa (github.com)