Upgraded My Pi, Now Reception is Better?

Good morning everyone!

I just recently started up my own piaware station a couple of weeks ago. My setup was a raspberry pi zero w, the blue flightaware stick and, 15 feet of RG-6 and a homemade antenna I placed on the peak of my house where an old satellite used to be. My reception was okay-ish, but rarely picked up anything over 150 miles away and picked up all kinds of signals up to 100 miles.

My wife gave me a raspberry pi 4 for fathers day, so I swapped out the pi zero w for the pi 4 and have seen a massive improvement in the number of signals I’ve received, the number of aircraft seen and my range has improved. I’m picking up way more traffic 150-200 miles away and even seeing a little 200-250 miles.

I am pretty new to all of this and a lot of the radio lingo goes over my head, but I’m curious why did swapping out computers improve my reception? My guess is it’s because the Pi 4 has more processing power and can handle more?

An RPI4 is way more powerful than a pi zero W
What else changed?
better/later code
better power supply (less noise)
better case(less nosie)
better USB port (more data, better/more reliable power)
dongle and coax location. sometimes just moving a device a little can make a change.
Are you now using ethernet(more reliable) or are you still using wifi(prone to interference, especially in high density locations)?

2 Likes

The raspberry 4 is not the root cause for this increase, i would assume it’s the combination of the parts.
Did you change really only the device itself? Not something additional like a USB cable?
Isn’t the Zero W operated with an additional adapter cable for USB?

Such cables can also be the root cause for performance issues. I have one USB extension here. With this, i have a performance drop of 40% overall

Did you set up the device new or are you using the SD card by simply moving it from one RPi to the other? Then it could be a different gain setting.

2 Likes