SDR/dump general

Hi,
I’ve been tracking surface a/c for a few many months & have a 98% hit rate with that I’m trying to achieve.
But, every once & a while the specific a/c I’m interested in is not detected. I’ve done plenty of experimenting , gain changes, aerial location etc, but still get this odd frustrating issue.

As I was watching it just now, the a/c even disappeared from flight radar at a similar time as to what my sdr lost it.

I’ve been at a loss on this, but after seeing the a/c disappear from flight radar at a similar time almost makes me think that it is something to do with the a/c itself.
My understanding is that the a/c stays transmitting until shutdown, or standby at least.

Does anyone have any experience or knowledge with similar scenarios.?

There are a few possible scenarios:

1. The aircraft is operating exclusively with UAT on 978 MHz so you are not seeing it on 1080 MHz.
  2. The aircraft may not be transmitting an ADS-B signal. It is only required in certain airspaces according to the FAA and if the aircraft is not in that airspace then it is optional.
  3. It might be getting detected with MLAT which is why it is invisible to a single device.

I run dump1090 mutability and allow inbound MLAT traffic to it so I do see otherwise “invisible” aircraft. I am not far from KFRG, which is mostly private aircraft. There are flight schools there and various aircraft pass over my office that do not show up until they are in an area where multiple receivers see them. There is one specific Robison helicopter that flies overhead quite on training flights quite often that is invisible to me.

Thanks for the reply.

I am reasonably sure that it is 1090 as the a/c was detected by 3x separate receivers (albeit within 3m of each other) at almost exactly the same GPS point.

Down under, it is now mandatory. Also, it was detected when on-ground.