How to get ads-b signals from aircrafts on ground/runway

I am new to flightaware. I am using flightaware feeder blue box along with the antenna provided with 15mtr cable. I live 3.5 kms away from one end of the runway.

I used diy colliner antenna and along with a preamp I was able to get signals from runway to some extent (which is not with the case of flightaware antenna) but my range was around 200-250 kms max . With flightaware antenna, I am getting range roughly around 300kms and around 450+kms at few places.

Any aircraft which goes below 250ft vanishes for me but again comes back when it lands with GND! At times I am seeing aircrafts which are taxied on the ground but dotted lines so it is not tracking fully but getting signal inbetween. Buildings all over so I can understand why signal goes. But how it comes when the aircraft will be fully surrounded by airport buildings?

Anyway to fully get signal from taxiaway and runway?

The circles in the picture are 50kms.

It comes down to dynamic range of the receiver.
Put simply, you can set your receiver for strong signals or for weak signals, but not both.

If you back off the gain (find instructions in other threads), youā€™ll see your local movements, but at the expense of long range.

As an experiment, try your DIY antenna without the amp.

4 Likes

Guess you could setup 2 stations - one with low gain for the airport and one with high gain for the inbound/outbound traffic.

5 Likes

I searched but not able to find a way to change gain. This kit was sent by flightaware and it seems to be beast receiver. In Radio menu there is no gain adjustment and I cannot find any clipped messages. How to adjust gain?

FlightFeeders based on Beast hardware do not have adjustable gain; but they also have good dynamic range so gain is usually not an issue.