Recommendation to learn GA license - DVD, book or class?

Hey guys:

I’m a brand new student pilot, about 6 hours of flight time at the moment. I’ve got a great instructor but I’m indecisive when it comes to ground school. I’ve got a wife and kids so I don’t have a ton of time to study. What do you folks recommend to study for the ground and oral tests? I think I’d be more inclined to watch videos (Kings or Sporty’s) vs. reading/studying on my own but wanted to get some advice from the ones who know this realm the best… :slight_smile: Would love for anyone and everyone to chime in on what they feel is best for someone who doesn’t have a ton of time but wants to definitely learn the most efficiently way. Have others found the Kings stuff to be beneficial? Or would Sporty’s be a better choice? I’m planning to utilize Cirrus aircraft when I get my license. Thanks in advanced and look forward to hearing from you guys soon.

Gleim book for the written.

One question that only you can answer is: Do I learn better in a class setting or do I have the discipline for self-studying?

thanks guys. I honestly dont think classroom-style learning is in the cards right now. In addition. I’m thinking DVD (ala King) might be best but I don’t want to drop $500 on their program without recommendations from other pilots. Thanks again

I got the most out of the King DVDs. Reading the book was fine, but hearing them (in somewhat boring and often corny fashion) describe various scenarios was most helpful. I could watch them after the family went to bed. I worked through them in a disciplined fashion and then took a weekend crash course just prior to taking the written. Not for everyone, but I learned best that way and certainly would recommend the Kings.