Question for all current instrument pilots

Hello All.

I’m new to FlightAware and have enjoyed reading the discussions from everyone. I recently started flying again after a fourteen year layoff. I passed private and instrument in the early 90’s and have logged 280 hrs. in a Cessna 150 and Piper Warrior.

Obviously, the difference in flying instruments is night and day from 1993. GPS was non-existent, except for the Loran I played with occasionally. Can you guys offer advice on how to get the most bang for my buck when I start the IPC. I have alot to learn, and would like to be ahead of the game before starting the engine. Can anyone recommend great dvd courses and the best way to go about getting comfortable again on instruments.

I’m also looking at transitioning down the road into a Diamond DA40 from the Cessna 172 I’m currently flying. It looks like a fun aircraft and comes with the G1000. Are there any safety concerns with these. Seems like I’ve read about engine issues.

John & Martha King have come out with new videos dealing with the Garmin 430/530, as well as the G1000 w/GFC700, WAAS included in both.
They also have instrument courses available.

You also might try one of THESE from Aircraft Spruce.

(Not an endorsement. I haven’t seen any of these videos. They were just the first places I could think of).

As QuickBurn iterated, I’d have to go with John and Martha as well. Their delivery makes me want to shoot myself… But, I have yet to see anyone else of late that can cover the material as thoroughly and in a format that’s simple to digest as they can.

Welcome mlester to Flight Aware

Truth be known, in my opinion, the “flying part” of a GPS approach is really no different then a localizer approach (assuming your plane doesn’t have WAAS capability) after getting established on the final approach course. So, if you equate it that way, for “flying” then you should be ok to go.