Newbie Flight Patern Question

Hello, I am brand new to FlightAware, within the last 24 hours actually, and also limited on my knowledge of aviation other than growing up hearing my father talk of his solo time in a single engine Cessna. I got interested in this site/app for the simple purpose of seeing the origin and destination of large commercial flights I occasionally see over my head. I live in the Northern Michigan (about 20 miles south of KPLN) and in just several flights I observed yesterday (04/07/16), I noticed an odd flight pattern that many international flights seem to take. Odd in the sense that some flights don’t seem to take a very direct route to the destination. Is this a matter of dealing with Jet Streams? Air Traffic? Pilot just wanting some OT? :laughing:

An example of a flight I noticed yesterday was from UUEE/SVO to MUHA/SAV. As you can see in the link below, it went way north, and then was heading almost due south by the time it got west to Michigan. My next thought was the fact that the Earth is a globe and the curvature of the globe is displayed this way on a flat map on a computer screen, but looking at the same flight scheduled for today (04/08/16), I see the flight pattern is already scheduled to come no where near Michigan. I see the same flight scheduled for 04/09/16 but as of now, there seems to be no flight path planned yet.

Links for these two flights are here:
04/07/16
zh.flightaware.com/live/flight/A … /UUEE/MUHA

04/08/16
zh.flightaware.com/live/flight/A … /UUEE/MUHA

Any insight would be appreciated, I am interested to learn more!
Colin

Some of it has to do with the great circle route. The map distorts the route a little.

The other part is that most aircraft must be within a certain distance from land(or an airport). They fly close to airports/land so that if there is a problem, they have a better chance of landing at an airport(not in the water).