New PiAware/Pro Stick User. Having issues.

Hey Guys,

The bad news: Yes, I’m new here and new to ADS-B tracking.

The good news: I’m a wireless network engineer. I am very technical and understand RF!

The setup:
brand new USB Pro Stick,
FA 1090 filter
2.5 dbi antenna (amazon.com/1090Mhz-Antenna-Connector-2-5dbi-Adapter/dp/B013S8B234) mounted outside on roof
connected to a never used RPi 1.0.
Powered via POE Injector that supplies 10 watts.
Samsung Flash with PiAware image
Nothing else connected or running on RPi.

I am close enough to KGSO to be able to hear the aircraft during the winter when leaves are off the trees.

when I run sudo piaware-status I get:
dump1090 is running.
faup1090 is running.
piaware is running.
dump1090 is listening for connections on port 30005.
faup1090 is connected to port 30005.
piaware is connected to FlightAware.
dump1090 is NOT producing data on port 30005.

When I run less /tmp/piawareout, I get:
05/05/2016 00:07:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:12:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:17:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:22:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:27:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:32:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:37:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:42:35 0 msgs recv’d from dump1090 (0 in last 5m); 0 msgs sent to FlightAware
05/05/2016 00:47:05 no new messages received in 3889 seconds, it might just be that there haven’t been any aircraft nearby but I’m going to try to restart dump1090, just in case…
05/05/2016 00:47:05 attempting to restart fadump1090.sh using ‘invoke-rc.d fadump1090.sh restart’…