LNA Question

Need some help with getting a LNA setup!

Currently I am running a PI3 with a USB Hub (external powered) connected to it. Plugged into that are 2 NooElec NESDR Smart V4’s. On both of the V4’s I have a FlightAware Dual 978-1090 Filter. From there, both SDR’s have a 3 foot 50 ohm low loss coax cable running to a FlightAware 978 antenna and a 1090 antenna on the other! I live in a 3 story apartment building with my apartment being on the bottom floor. I have this connected in my garage with the antennas as far up as I can have them!

I want to get better range! I have no idea how my performance is right now. I am a noob at this. How do I look at that?

Looking at integrating an external inexpensive tee from eBay with a RTL-SDR Triple Filtered LNA. But you can only use LNAs on 1090 correct? Would I be able to power the external tee from my USB hub?

Correct me if I am wrong but it would be setup as,

Antenna → LNA → External Tee → Filter → Dongle → Pi correct?

Thank you in advance for the help!

First check on heywhatsthat.com about your max range based on terrain. If your current range is close to it, there is not much you can do.
Second check if you have obstacles close to you (trees, buildings). Most of these can be fixed only while putting the antenna higher

If both should give a better range/reception, then you can think on optimizing the setup. It then might depend on radio interferences close to you.

1 Like

If you know anyone on the upper floors, perhaps one of those might allow your receiver and antenna to share their space inside or outside. You might still be able to connect to your own wifi if there is adequate signal strength. Worth considering, as this will likely get above some building space and trees.