I used ALL the technology on Sunday, 7/29

Was an interesting cross country from Moline to Windham Ct on Sunday.

We were IFR @ 11000 [9490P] and took off @ 8.40CDT for home. Wx was good til we got to BKL. Clouds then started building. I did a few 10 degree diverts and then went to the storm scope and it showed lots of activity building @ SLT VOR and eastward.

Technology is big on my panel. We have a GNS530 with a GPSS autopilot function, an HSI along with a WX-500 storm scope and a S-Tec 60-2 autopilot with altitude preselect. Rounding out the technology is a GPS396 with XM weather. I used all of it, including the brain inside my head, and 35 years of being a weather buff and knowing some of the physics of the storms.

There was a stalled front from Cleveland across PA to Long Island. The XM WX showed lots of storms building from LHY into NY, to NYC across Long Island. I asked for and got 12000 eastbound to stay above the rapidly building cumulus. I visually saw the TSRA at SLT and the stormscope was showing stikes and cells out to 200nm in a line stretching from SLT-IPT-JFK-FRG. Another rain shower had popped up in western CT.

I looked at METARs from airports in western NY north of the PA line and saw clear skies, or sct5000 - which is normal summer inland wx. So I asked for diversion direct SFK and we flew through some moderate turbulence as we could not avoid some of the buildups. My biggest fear was that the cumulus would all sudden blossom around me - giving me no place to go. The line of clouds was about 50 nm wide and I was in the middle of it. This is where brains came in - I watched the clouds around me and they were going up at no more than 200-300fpm - I could out climb in my Comanche, so I figured if it got bad I could go up and head straight for the exit. I still had most blue sky around me and could do-si-do around the clouds.