exterior antenna

Hi everyone! I’m fairly new to this. I’ve looked through the forum but couldn’t find it anywhere. Is there a way I could build an antenna like this: m.ebay.com/itm/ADS-B-omni-antenn … nav=SEARCH ? I’m pretty handy, but I don’t know a whole lot about this subject yet. I have my PiAware up and running, but have an interior antenna and only getting about 25 mile range. I’m looking to mount this to an old antenna on my house. I’m an airline pilot and recently found out about this whole thing. I’m a noob, so go easy on me!

Thanks!

Make it easy on yourself and go with this:

http://www.amazon.com/1090MHz-ADS-B-Antenna-66cm-26in/dp/B00WZL6WPO/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1461168733&sr=8-2&keywords=flightaware

If you don’t have Prime, add something else for 5 bucks and the shipping is free.

(Believe me, you’ll be spending more than that 50 bucks over time because there is always something else to get you out just a little farther!) :laughing:

Keep it simple. My aerial is a cantenna basically a tin can and a paperclip. More details elsewhere on this forum. I got about 50 aircraft/miles indoors and about 200 when I put it on the roof. Ok I’m in a good location as I have now found out (London UK) -but I recommend simplicity until you find your feet. Fortunately I can climb the roof at no cost but I am delighted with my cantenna attached to a broom handle above the TV aerial. I an now hooked and ready to improve on my current setup, and spend a few more pennies.

The antenna is a CoCo antenna (Coaxial Collinear Antenna). These antenna are very easy and fairly cheap to make but tuning can be a problem.

A coworker followed these instructions and made a 8 segmented CoCo antenna using cheap RG coax cable cut to specific lengths.
balarad.net

CoCo antennas use 1/2 wave segments (about 5.4 inches for ADSB * the propagation speed of the coax ) . The ebay listing says it is a 4 segment CoCo.